h1

Wanting to Get Outta Town

January 12, 2009

So I’m taking my sister to the airport tonight. She lives in London, has for the last 2.5 years, and absolutely loves it. I love the airport. While I’m stuck here finishing up my education with my husband, the airport makes me giddy where the possibility of travel seems imminent.

Vasant and I are looking into going to England twice in the next six months. There is a possible winter trip before the end of March we’re looking into, just for ourselves to get out, travel and relax. I’d love to go back and stay in York for a while. I don’t know why, but this was one of the most interesting places where I’d want to go back and write.

London2007_York_023.U4loLT8oa8qN.J3Q3Zsaa30VK.L525tcHPGeM5.jpg

The York train station was one of the most beautiful stations we saw.

London2007_York_077.biEwq0L8DKBG.OW7QFZvNgqjj.q0tTivwBSCC5.jpg

London2007_York_095.ke8UUFBknvW5.6qFwlYNrkBsO.lh11Y8I563RX.jpg

London2007_York_097.lZU1rL1Cff8I.rkWFX0TldmG9.3HMskMiuvDne.jpg

London2007_York_122.g3VvVMb5MOUC.VPnCNfqAICGo.mIg4bSx84wRs.jpg

We found these ruins along the roadside in town. There was a dark corridor along the sidewalk. No plaques, no sign leading inwards. But I decided to go check and found the ruins of a hospital, nunnery and roman fort, all close together in a beautiful field. It was one of those incredible finds, not on the guidebook or the map, just a local curiosity hidden by the wayside.

York is has incredible history. It was a major Viking settlement in England, a major Roman settlement (it’s where Emperor Constantine found out he was to be the next leader of the Empire), and of course a major English city.

London2007_York_194.GnOwBbv3JjJM.Z3U1EOiIRDX9.mZIX7W29gUnu.jpg

A statue of Constantine sits outside Yorkminster, the second most important cathedral in England.

One of my favorite places in York was the Shambles, a rickety road dating back to Viking occupation, resembling Diagon Alley, looking straight out of the pages of Harry Potter.

London2007_York_310.qi5hkTQgl1Ht.Bh2TGyXaXjoC.neNOFLxERnDD.jpg

London2007_York_311.ikgEc4zYTMN4.fasmJhqKfLoS.OOvOJpIDQcWD.jpg

These pictures don’t do the diagonal juts and cuts of the building any justice. As cool as it looks, it’s much more impressive in person, but then, that’s true of almost all travel photography.
London2007_York_362.wFOyiVoVf0T7.gexSWD7yFqVV.lLeX7okfCMFE.jpg

Vasant climbed up a medieval tower to get this shot of Yorkminster and the surrounding rooftops. In my opinion, the cloudy English sky adds to the beauty of this shot. I don’t know if I would have liked this place as much if it had been sunny.

London2007_York_421.rzVIm9NAxUfj.onI1TEdEzpJw.Wf11J1M8Vynp.jpg

London2007_York_417.6Hcpujsja6dK.zVNNkAER5a1G.FW80chKWmd4L.jpg

One of the best parts of York is that it is an entirely walled city. We walked the entire circumference of the wall that day. All the gates still operate as entrances and exits to the city, complete with their portcullises poised above the traffic.

London2007_York_039.g5QQjYWUNyvO.HWa1dtCKfY4l.ehzXvUNnN1yv.jpg

Lovely place. Full of age and mystery and winding close medieval alleys that lead to new discoveries that not even the guidebook can prepare you for.

*********

Can you tell I need to get away? I wish I were booking a trip to England now. I hope we’ll be there before Spring, but if not, we’ll at least be there in May for my sister’s graduation.

In the meantime, I settle for this for Vasant’s birthday:

DSC05938.Ta1J62odF70N.dBlTx2uIySwF.Jpu1jTTeEdq1.jpg

We’re annual passholders, so we already have free admission until this coming fall, but we’ll get a gift card equal to the price of admission on his birthday. Very excited about this!

DSC05576.1BTbQsEprVmO.xGUeQzXnciWo.Mzqfj6hkruVA.jpg

Leave a Reply

