h1

A playlist for this new year…

January 1, 2009

Welcome 2009!

Happy New Year!
“My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year)”, Regina Spektor

“And a happy new year to all that is living, to all that is gentle, kind and forgiving.”

I want authenticity.
“Antichrist Television Blues”, Arcade Fire

“Now I’m overcome by the light of day.”

“Moving Mountains”, Thrice

“But all other things shall fade away…”

I want bravery.
“Have You Got It In You?”, Imogen Heap

“All at once, not a whisper, no word, then all at once-
Let me have it all, let me have it, battle on…”

“Underdog”, Spoon

“I hear the call of a lifetime ring, felt the need to get up for it…”

I want to be challenged.
“Come On! Feel The Illinoise!”, Sufjan Stevens

“Are you writing from the heart?”

I want to fall deeper in love.
“Kingdom Come“, Coldplay

“In your fire and in your flood, in you tears and in your blood, I hear you laugh, I heard you say: I wouldn’t change a single thing.”

“A Song for Milly Michaelson”, Thrice

“I love the night, flying o’er these city lights, but I love you most of all~”

I want to remember
“Hurt”, Johnny Cash

“But I remember everything…”

“Swing Life Away (Acoustic)”, Rise Against

“Let’s compare scars, I’ll tell you whose is worse. Let’s unwrite these pages and replace them with our own words.”

I want to be different-
“My Body Is a Cage”, Arcade Fire

“My mind holds the key.”

And hope for better.
“Chicago”, Sufjan Stevens

“I made a lot of mistakes. You came to take us (all things go, all things go), to recreate us, (all things grow, all things grow).”

*****

It sounds just as good as it reads. Happy New Year, you all.

Leave a Reply

